Turning Points in Romantic Relationships

From that hormone-spewn feeling of falling in love we believe deep in our souls that what we have is true love, real love and that we’re with The One, the search is over and that there is nothing else left to do but settle down…is a load of crock!b

I’ve been watching too many romantic movies and romance novels. There is always a guarantee of HEA. 

We’re living the real life. We’d all love to live HEA but that means for most of us stress-free, conflict-free relationships. That’s not the reality of any relationship and definitely not the romantic ones. There are barriers and I think I can say from my experience that it’s usually internal. Sometimes it’s external like family, relatives and friends. Their hearts may be in the right place, but what goes on between two people stays between them. It’s up to them to figure things out.

I am so glad to be out of the phase where it felt like a whirlwind romance and now I’m getting to know him for real this time and vice versa.

Love is what we’re all looking for isn’t it? I am and I hope the man I’m dating now for two months is still with me decades from now.

And the hardest things in a relationship is looking inside ourselves and seeing where we err in the relationship, how our actions and words ruin it. Easy to blame others. But how do we grow up if we’re not stopping our negative attitudes?

I’ve got Complex PTSD and I can be honest and say that it’s been difficult for me up until now that I have had the best talk I have had with him since the beginning. Flashbacks are (fill in the blank with your favourite word) but they no longer bother me. I meet with him at least four times a week and the more I’m with him, the more I see who he really is.

And he is the most wonderful man out there. And I’m glad that he’s mine.

Anyone who knows me personally, they will tell you that my dog Cutie Pie was the best thing that’s happened to me. Now that has changed. He’s the best thing that’s happened to me.

I’m sure that things between us will get better as the months pass.

My favourite quote from W. Shakespeare about love (Bartleby website):

    For aught that I could ever read, 2
Could ever hear by tale or history,
The course of true love never did run smooth.
          A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Act i. Sc. 1.

 

Leave a Reply

